Weakley County’s Jay and Alice Ann Yeargin win state young farmer honors

Columbia, TN, July 23, 2016 – Weakley County young farmers Jay and Alice Ann Yeargin were named Tennessee Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement Award winners. The results were announced during the Tennessee Young Farmer Summer Conference at Tennessee Farm Bureau in Columbia, Tenn. The young row crop and cattle farmers from the Greenfield community competed against 15 other county contestants across the state to be named the state winner and have the opportunity to compete for national honors in January.

Jay and Alice Ann were named this year’s winners based upon farm and financial records from the farm year 2015. They farm approximately 5,000 acres where they raise corn, soybeans, seed soybeans, wheat, and cattle. The Yeargins  host groups on their farm each year, including the Tennessee Governor’s School for the Agricultural Sciences, to share the story of agriculture.

Both Jay and Alice Ann have been very active in the Young Farmer and Rancher program, as well as the Weakley County Farm Bureau and their local community. Both have served on the Tennessee YF&R State Committee and Alice Ann was the state’s Outstanding Young Woman in 2013.  Jay currently serves on his local Farm Bureau board and the Tennessee Cattleman’s Association state board. The Yeargins are members of the Weakley Chamber of Commerce, their local volunteer fire department and their church.

As state winners, the Yeargins receive a year’s free use of a brand new Case IH tractor up to 150 hours. They also receive $1000 and a fully-loaded Polaris Ranger UTV from Tennessee Farm Bureau, an insurance policy to cover the tractor for one year from Farm Bureau Insurance of Tennessee, $500 in qualified Farm Bureau services, $500 in services from Farmers Service and a trip to the American Farm Bureau Convention in Phoenix, Arizona in January 2017, where they will compete for national honors with other state winners. The national winner will get their choice of a 2017 Chevrolet Silverado or 2017 GMC Sierra, courtesy of GM and paid registration to the 2017 YF&R Leadership Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Three national runners-up will receive a Case IH Farmall tractor, courtesy of Case IH, a $2,500 cash prize and $500 in merchandise courtesy of Stihl.

Rusty and Christi Grills of Dyer County were named runners-up in this year’s competition. District winners were: District Two – Andrew and Cassie Massey of Maury County; District Three – AJ and Valerie Teal of Coffee County; District Four – Joe and Becky Smith of Overton County and District Five – Lynn Waters of Blount County.