Outstanding Teacher Recognition

County Outstanding Teachers

Congratulations to these county Outstanding Teachers!

Blount – Sandie Leonard
Coffee – Megan Jernigan
Dyer – Amy Schultz
Fayette – Donna Burrus
Greene – Renee Skeen
Hamblen – Jennifer Overbay
Lawrence – Holie Threet
Marshall – Jennifer Gillespie
Maury – Regina Peery

Obion – Shiloh Leake
Overton – Mary Ashburn
Robertson – Julie Stroud
Rutherford – Emily Cone
Rutherford – Melissa Flowers
Rutherford – Kimberly Kahle
Rutherford – Anne Mayes
Sumner – Brad Kirkham
Weakley – Lindsey Parham

White-Reinhardt Winners

Congratulations Regina Peery of Maury County, the National White-Reindhardt Teacher Award winner!

Excellence in Teaching about Agriculture

The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture awards the Excellence in Teaching about Agriculture to educators in grades K-12 who have demonstrated involvement in agricultural literacy. Each recipient will receive a $1,500 scholarship to attend the National Agriculture in the Classroom Conference in June. The Foundation, through the White-Reinhardt Fund for Education, sponsored the scholarships in cooperation with the American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee.

Melissa Shirk
Loudon – Philadelphia Elementary

About Melissa: Melissa lives and teaches in Philadelphia, rural farming community of East Tennessee.
Quote: “Many of my students are surrounded by dairy farms, crop farms, and beef and pork producers. I want to continue my knowledge of agriculture and provide my students with current resourceful information and activities to promote the science, engineering, technology, and mathematics of all agricultural areas through Ag in the Classroom.

Congratulations Melissa!