Governor Haslam speaks to delegates of 95th annual meeting of Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation

During the Tennessee Farm Bureau’s 95th annual convention in Franklin, Tenn., Governor Bill Haslam spoke to delegates, who represent agriculture and farmers across the state, at the business session addressing the recent wildfires, tornadoes and the outpouring of support by Tennesseans responding to help those affected by these disasters.

Gov. Haslam speaking to TN Farm Bureau business session
Gov. Haslam speaking to TN Farm Bureau business session

“You can’t help but be overwhelmed by the recent devastation in Tennessee. But you also can’t help being overwhelmed by how people respond to help,” Haslam said to the capacity crowd.

He also previewed the coming legislative session, mentioning transportation infrastructure and broadband as big issues that need to be addressed, as well as rural development, education and the state budget. “Agriculture needs to remain a priority source of opportunity for this state,” he said.

Also during the Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation’s business session, the delegates debated policy proposals and passed resolutions to work on passage of legislation in 2017 at the state and federal levels; and also re-elected their vice president of the nation’s largest state Farm Bureau organization.

Humphreys County row crop and commercial cow/calf farmer Eric Mayberry was re-elected by the voting delegate body to serve as the organization’s vice president representing nearly 650,000 family members in Tennessee.

Weakley County row crop and beef cattle farmer John Chester was elected as the District I director, as Dyer County’s Malcolm Burchfiel did not seek re-election.

Others re-elected to the board of directors by the voting delegates were: Charles Hancock from Bumpus Mills, Catherine Via from Alamo, David Richesin from Philadelphia, Josh Ogle from Flintville, James Haskew from South Pittsburg, Mike Scudder from Carthage, David Mitchell from Blaine and Jane May, State Women’s chair from Newbern.

Also during the annual meeting, Josey Miller of Loudon County was selected as the new state Young Farmer and Rancher chair.