Farm Bureau Honors Tenn. Congressmen and Senators with National Award

The American Farm Bureau Federation’s “Friend of Farm Bureau” award is given each year to senators and congressmen nationwide that have supported and continuously voted for agriculture, rural communities and Farm Bureau policy.
“The ‘Friends of Farm Bureau’ award is presented each year to those elected officials who have supported agriculture with their votes more than just their words,” said Upchurch. “By voting at least 60 percent of the time on issues that are related to Farm Bureau policy, it is a good indication that these members of our congressional delegation have an understanding and record of support for Farm Bureau policy issues. They are not just a friend of Farm Bureau, but the Tennessee farmer as well.”

Those selected for 2010 are Tennessee senators Bob Corker and Lamar Alexander. The five congressmen receiving the honor are First District Congressman Phil Roe, Second District Congressman John Duncan, Fourth District Congressman Lincoln Davis, Seventh District Congressman Marsha Blackburn, and Eight District Congressman John Tanner. Representative Davis’s award was presented to him recently and the others will be receiving their award at a later date.

“This is a national award given by the American Farm Bureau with final designation given from the state Farm Bureaus,” Upchurch went on to say. “Our legislative policy is totally based on grassroots input from our 95 county Farm Bureaus where all of our congressmens’ farming and voting constituents live. Farm Bureau attempts to represent the farmer’s point of view which many times gets overlooked. We do appreciate those ‘Friends of Farm Bureau’ for their help at the national level.”

For additional information contact:  
Pettus Read, TFBF Director of Communications
931-388-7872 ext. 2212