Young Farmers & Ranchers Award Winners


Collegiate discussion meet winner - University of Tennessee at Martin student Jesi Ogg was the 2013 Collegiate Discussion Meet winner during this year's YF&R summer conference. The runner-up was Katie Clark of Tennessee Tech University.  A representative from each of the agricultural colleges, MTSU, UT Martin, UT and TTU, competed. This contest is designed to simulate a committee meeting where discussion and active participation are expected from each college-age participant.

State discussion meet winner - Michael Shirley of Rutherford County was the 2013 Tennessee Discussion Meet winner. The state winner receives $1000 from Tennessee Farm Bureau, a lawn mower from Massey Ferguson and an all-expenses paid trip to the American Farm Bureau Convention, the AFBF YF&R Leaders Conference and all TN YF&R Conferences.


Excellence in Ag winners - The Excellence in Agriculture contest is a great opportunity for agriculturists to showcase their farming operation, agriculture and Farm Bureau leadership activities through an application and presentation. Chuck Yoest and Jennifer Hatcher of Williamson County won the state Excellence in Ag contest during the YF&R Fall tour and were runners-up at the American Farm Bureau contest in January at the AFBF Convention. Chuck and Jennifer received a John Deere Gator donated by Farm Credit, and an all expense paid trip to the American Farm Bureau's 95th Annual Meeting in Nashville.


Young farmer Environmental Stewardship state winner - Grant and Crystal Norwood from Henry County were named this year's state winner of the Environmental Stewardship Award.  The state winner, in addition to the $400 they received as a district winner, receives a $1000 from TN Farm Bureau, an all-expenses paid trip to the American Farm Bureau YF&R Leaders Conference and all TN YF&R Conferences.



Young Farmer state runner-up - Henry County couple Grant and Crystal Norwood were named this year's runners-up in the state competition for the Outstanding Young Farmer Achievement contest. They are shown here with TN Farm Bureau President Lacy Upchurch, Tim Mills of Case IH and Charles Curtis, Special Programs Director of TN Farm Bureau . The runners-up receive up to $500 in qualified Farm Bureau services, $1000 cash from TN Farm Bureau, an all expense-paid trip to the American Farm Bureau Convention and trips to all TN YF&R Conferences.

Young Farmer National winners - Brandon and Katherine Whitt of Rutherford County were named the American Farm Bureau's Outstanding Young Farmer and Achievement winners. The rewards for being named are many. They get to choose either a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado or 2014 GMC Sierra, courtesy of GM. The Whitts will also receive paid registration to attend the 2014 AFBF YF&R Leadership Conference in Virginia Beach, Virginia in February.